Different Perspectives

This is going to be my first ever participation in a writing challenge. I used to write diaries and letters. So far whatever little I had written had all been my perspectives. This post here is an attempt to describe a scenario in two different perspectives in response to this week’s (21st Oct 2013) writing challenge from Daily post – the Difference point of view makes

Scenario: Mom is back home after her run. Her year old daughter is sitting in the living room with her grandfather when mom gets back. What happens next is told in this story in mother’s and daughter’s perspective.

Mother’s perspective:

After nearly a week, I managed to sneak out for my morning run. With a baby and a toddler every little task that involves going out of the house is a challenge. I woke up my dad from his sleep and asked him to be in the kids’ room till I got back.

When I entered the house all sweaty and tired after 45 minutes, my little girl Aditi was already up and waiting for me. It was time to relieve my dad of his duties. He was ready to step out for his morning walk. I sat down near Aditi who was playing with her elder brother’s toys. I saw that she was all excited as she rarely gets a chance to lay her hands on his prized possessions.

After giving a peck on her cheek, I laid down next to her for my exercises. I pushed myself to the brink for completing the first set of leg raises wondering how some movie stars sported flat tummies post pregnancy. For the hundredth time, I cursed myself for putting on this much weight. When I was mid way with the second set of exercises , Aditi decided that trying to climb on my chest would be lot more fun than playing with the toys. As a result, the leg raises got even more challenging. Why would it not be, when you got to do them with a baby who is simultaneously trying to practice standing up holding you for support! By the time I was done with the third set, Aditi was all over me. She pulled my hair, checked out my earrings and when there was nothing else to do, she got impatient.

She wanted me to pick her up. Just when I got up to do that, Arjun, my son came running out of the bedroom and straight on to my arms. Poor little Aditi was screaming and as usual, I was helpless wondering how to calm them both!

Daughter’s perspective:

It was still dark when Aditi woke up from her sleep. In the dimly lit bedroom, she was unable to find her mother. Then she kicked her legs in the air and listened to the soft noise from her anklets. She looked around when she heard a noise. It was her grandfather. He whispered “Aditi” and picked her up. 

After visiting her grandmother in the kitchen, they settled down in the living room. She did not like that. She was about to cry to state her disapproval. Grandfather got the cue and picked her up to point at all the toys that were neatly stacked on the television stand. Her eyes caught her brother’s shiny new car, the one he refused to share with her. She waved her hands at it and mumbled her baby words “adhu, adhu” meaning “that”.

Once she had that precious possession in her hands, she calmed down. She examined the car from all the angles, probably to see which side to bite first. She played with the wheels. Then, she threw it around and enjoyed all the noises it made. Right then, somebody opened the front door.

It was her mom. She was happy to see her. For a while, she kept herself busy playing with the new car and looking at her mom. In sometime, she was bored. She went near her mother and tried to get up holding her. After she was done with all this, She wanted her mom’s attention and was desperately trying to get it. She pulled her hair, hair band. But mom was in no mood to pick her up.

Finally, when mom got up, she was thrilled. Now, came the moment she was waiting for. She held her arms high, ready to be picked up. Right then her brother came running from the bedroom and went straight to her mom’s arms. Aditi’s world came down now. She thought how could mom pick up her brother and not her. She was very angry and began crying!

 

2 thoughts on “Different Perspectives

Leave a Reply

