My Weight issues

As a child and teen, I did not have any weight issues. I managed to stay under 58 kg. When I started college, I gained a couple of kilos and that was it. I was not lean but at least I was nowhere near being called “Fat”. Till I joined work in 2005, I remained at 60 kg. However things changed, for the worse, thereafter.

Before I realized, I was piling on weight at an alarming pace. I roughly gained 7 kg before I left for the US in July 2007 (in 2 years!). Options were aplenty to follow a fitness routine, but my sweet tooth played havoc with the plans of getting into shape. I gained 2 more kilos by the time I was in India in Jan 2009. I was just short of 70 kg!

I was a software engineer that time. My work involved sitting on a chair for at least 8 hours a day. There are times when we worked overtime. This sedentary life style coupled with stress, bad food habits etc leads to weight gain for many in this profession. I was no exception.

Culprits in my case were the following

  1. Sedentary life style: Sitting on the chair for more than 8 hours a day, 5 days a week. If the commute time is added, then it would amount to 12 hours a day. After a tiring day at work, there was no energy left for any exercise. Even walking seemed difficult.
  2. Bad food habits: For years chocolates were once-in-a-while treat for me. This changed during work years as they were at hand’s reach in the cafeteria and there was no pocket money limitation. Also, if a colleague returned from home town after a short visit, they brought delicacies from their place for everyone to taste.
  3. Back Injury: Once I slipped when I was coming out of the bathroom. I injured my lower back in that and I was unable to walk for more than 5 minutes. It took months to heal. The irony is, I fell down on the day I finished my first workout at the office gym. So when I decided to start exercising, I had to stop doing it on the same day 😦
  4. Stress: These highly demanding jobs made sure that we were always under some kind of pressure. We chased deadlines after deadlines. On days when I actually completed the work on time or before time, it made me feel guilty of under working!

Even when I was in the US, I tried everything to lose the weight. I worked out at the office gym, tried dieting. But I had no control over my diet. I was not eating everything in sight, but I ate all the wrong food! The trend continued after I returned to India for my wedding. Before marriage, I lost 2 kg, but the other excess mass remained firmly attached to me.

After marriage I left to Mumbai to be with my husband. Once I was there, I gained all the weight back because of zero exercise, eating out and all that. I was really sad to look at myself in some of the photographs taken during that time. I went to gym and participated in aerobics class. But nothing got me going

I was depressed about this and cribbing to a friend constantly. She said one of her cousins lost all the excess weight by working out and following a strict diet plan prescribed by a dietitian. She offered me to get the details. Once I had the details in hand, I was motivated to start again. It was not a difficult diet to follow. The gist of it is to reduce your calorific intake to about 1200 calories and workout for at least 40 minutes a day. Eat a lot of vegetables and fruits. I saw instant results. I lost 5 kg in around 6 weeks. I was very happy. I was content at that and did not work hard after 6 weeks. I managed to stay around this weight for some months.

Then I was pregnant with my first child and then my second child. As you could imagine, I gained all that back. I had no time for exercise whatsoever (may be, it was not a priority). I was stuck at 68-70 kg for a long time.

Long story short, I gained around 10 kg in 9 years! But there is a happy ending to it. Read about it in the next post.

Leave a Reply

